The U.S. Department of Labor on Monday awarded a $4.76 million National Emergency Grant to assist New York with cleanup and recovery efforts after the severe storms and flooding that struck the state from June 26 to July 4, 2013.

On July 12, the Federal Emergency Management Agency declared 16 New York counties eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance Program. Those counties are: Allegany, Broome, Chautauqua, Chenango, Clinton, Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Otsego and Warren.

The funds are being awarded to the New York Department of Labor. Of the approved grant amount, $1.586 million will be released initially. Additional funding up to the amount approved will be made available as the state demonstrates a continued need for assistance.