Jane Forbes Clark, Chairman of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, today outlined the timeline for transition to the institution’s next president, Tim Mead.

Mead, who was named President of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum on April 30, will begin serving in that capacity on June 24. Until that date, Jeff Idelson will continue as President of the Hall of Fame, a role he has held for the past 11 years.

“I am pleased that my long-time friend, Tim Mead, will be available to transition into the role of President of the Hall of Fame in late-June,” said Idelson. “While we had no expectation that we would be fortunate enough to have him join the Museum so quickly, this timeline is best for the institution. Therefore, I will be retiring as President at the end of June to help facilitate the transition. I look forward to returning for Hall of Fame Weekend to celebrate our six 2019 electees and our award winners, as well as Tim’s first Induction Ceremony as President.”

“The Hall of Fame and baseball community shall forever be grateful for Jeff’s dedication and passion for the game and its history during his 25 years in Cooperstown,” said Mead. “This institution has benefited immeasurably from his steady leadership, and his relationships across the spectrum of baseball. It is an honor and privilege to follow in the footsteps of a gentleman whom I hold in the highest regard, and I wish Jeff nothing but continued success and happiness in his next chapters ahead. I am eager to join the tremendous team at the Hall of Fame, to celebrate baseball and honor the game’s all-time greats.”

Mead joins the Hall of Fame after 40 years of experience working in baseball, all with the Los Angeles Angels organization, including the last 22 years as the team’s Vice President of Communications.

Mead becomes the seventh president in the 80-year history of the organization, following Stephen C. Clark, Sr., founder of the Hall of Fame and grandfather of current Chairman, Jane Forbes Clark, Paul Kerr, Edward W. Stack, Donald C. Marr Jr., Dale A. Petroskey and Jeff Idelson, who in February announced his upcoming retirement from the role.

Idelson was named President of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum on April 16, 2008. He served as vice president of communications and education for the Museum from June 1999 through March 2008, when he was named Acting President. He joined the Museum on Sept. 26, 1994 as director of public relations and promotions.