An old familiar face is returning to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown.  Or should we say.... a young familiar face!

Jeff Idelson, who had a 25 year career at the Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, is returning to fill in (temporarily) the vacant spot left when Hall of Fame president Tim Mead announced his retirement earlier this year.  Mead's departure becomes official in mid-May.  Idelson's move should be pretty seamless since a good part of the 25 years he spent at the Hall of Fame were as President.  His term ran from 2008 to 2019, when he announced his retirement.  Idelson takes over the reins of the Hall of Fame and Museum next week.

The announcement was made on Tuesday May 11, 2021 by Jane Forbes Clark, the Chairman of the Board of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors has also appointed a Search Committee, which will identify the Museum’s next President. The members of the Committee are Jane Forbes Clark, as Chair, Commissioner Rob Manfred, Dr. Harvey Schiller, and Hall of Fame Member Cal Ripken, Jr.

In the 82-year history of the organization, seven individuals have served as president: Stephen C. Clark, Sr., founder of the Hall of Fame and grandfather of current Chairman, Jane Forbes Clark; Paul Kerr; Edward W. Stack; Donald C. Marr Jr.; Dale A. Petroskey; Idelson; and Mead.

During his tenure as Hall president, Jeff Idelson was a familiar and accessible leader and we join the members of the Hall family in welcoming back an old friend.

KEEP READING: Here are 50 of the most famous sports goofs