The United Way of Delaware and Otsego Counties has announced the nominees for the 2016 Alan Donovan Outstanding Community Leadership Award. The award, established in the name of former SUNY Oneonta President Alan Donovan, is given to an individual in Delaware or Otsego Counties who has demonstrated dedication to the community and has made a significant impact on the quality of life in Delaware and/or Otsego Counties.

The nominees are:  Stacie Haynes, Executive Director of the Susquehanna Animal Shelter; Peter Gould, Owner, Morris Garage; Rachel Jessup, Assistant Vice President, Bank of Cooperstown, Oneonta Branch; Angie Eichler, Greek Life Advisor, Oneonta State College; Andrew Marietta, Regional Manager for New Your Council of Non-Profits, CNY Region; Chris Kuhn, Executive Director, Oneonta Job Corps.   All of the nominees have an exceptional history of community service.  Community members are invited to visit United Way’s Facebook page and website: to view information on each of the nominees.

To vote for a nominee, please email or call our offices at 607-432-8006. Paper ballots can be obtained from any UWDO Board member or by visiting our office at the Rowe House, 31 Maple Street, Oneonta.  Voting will end on Friday, September 2 and the winner will be announced at our 2016 Campaign Kick-off event, Tuesday, September 13 at 8:00 a.m. at the Otesaga Resort Hotel, 60 Lake Street, Cooperstown.