How To Apply for New York’s One-Day Marriage Officiant License
Beginning in March of this year, any adult will be able to apply to officiate a wedding in the state of New York without having to possess any particular criteria or licenses.
Until now, the honor of bonding a couple in marriage has been reserved for clergy, judges, and elected officials but all of that changed on December 28 when New York Governor Kathy Hochul signed a bill into law which allows adults to apply for a single day officiant license.
How to Apply for a One-Day New York Officiant License
As soon as the law goes into effect on Tuesday, March 28, 2023, any adult at least 18 years old or older will be able to apply to the city or county clerk who will be the one issuing the marriage license to the happy couple. A minimal fee of $25 will apply.
What Are the Benefits of a One-Day New York Officiant License?
Before Governor Hochul changed the law, people who wanted to officiate a wedding were required to become an ordained minister. This new one-day marriage officiant license allows friends and family who want to marry a couple the ability to do so without having to jump through hoops.
Are There Resident Requirements To Obtain a One-Day New York Officiant License?
No. Any adult who is 18 years old or older can apply for the license and they do not need to be a resident of New York state.
The idea for issuing one-day officiant licenses in New York came from an experience that Assemblywoman Sandy Galef had at a wedding out of state where the groom's sister officiated the ceremony. The bill was co-sponsored by New York State Senator Alessandra Biaggi.
When the bill was brought before Governor Hochul, she agreed that a couple should be allowed to decide who binds them in marriage.
“By signing this legislation into law, we are eliminating any barriers to becoming an officiant so friends and family members can share such a meaningful time with loved ones of their choosing and have their marriage recognized under New York State law’’