On Wednesday Major League Baseball announced that Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas were all elected to baseball's Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

The trio were all on the ballot for the first time. The last time the Hall admitted three first-timers was 1999, when it inducted Nolan Ryan, Robin Yount and George Brett. A fourth player, Craig Biggio, missed election by just two votes.

Maddux and Glavine pitched together for many years on the staff of the Atlanta Braves, winning the 1995 World Series together. Maddux won four straight Cy Young Awards from 1992-1995, and Glavine won a pair himself (1991, 1998). Maddux's 97.2 percent total is the eighth-highest of all time.

Thomas, who was appropriately nicknamed "The Big Hurt," was an offensive force during his 19-year career, winning back-to-back MVP awards in 1993 and 1994. His .419 career on-base percentage ranks 20th all time, ahead of Hall of Famers Wade Boggs and Stan Musial, and just behind Mickey Mantle.

Also coming close, though not quite as close as Biggio, to election were Mike Piazza and Jack Morris. This is Morris's last year on the writers' ballot; his fate now lies with the Veterans Committee.

Below is a full list of all candidates and their vote totals. A player must receive votes on 75 percent of all ballots to be inducted (there were 571 total ballots cast).

Player (Years on Ballot)Total VotesPercentage
Greg Maddux (1)55597.2
Tom Glavine (1)52591.9
Frank Thomas (1)47883.7
Craig Biggio (2)42774.8
Mike Piazza (2)35562.2
Jack Morris (15)35161.5
Jeff Bagwell (4)31054.3
Tim Raines (7)26346.1
Roger Clemens (2)20235.4
Barry Bonds (2)19834.7
Lee Smith (12)17129.9
Curt Schilling (2)16729.2
Edgar Martinez (5)14425.2
Alan Trammell (13)11920.8
Mike Mussina (1)11620.3
Jeff Kent (1)8715.2
Fred McGriff (8)6711.7
Mark McGwire (8)6311.0
Larry Walker (4)5810.2
Don Mattingly (14)478.2
Sammy Sosa (2)417.2
Rafael Palmeiro (4)254.4
Moises Alou (1)61.1
Hideo Nomo (1)61.1
Luis Gonzalez (1)50.9
Eric Gagne (1)20.4
J.T. Snow (1)20.4
Armando Benitez (1)10.2
Jacque Jones (1)10.2
Kenny Rogers (1)10.2
Sean Casey (1)00.0
Ray Durham (1)00.0
Todd Jones (1)00.0
Paul Lo Duca (1)00.0
Richie Sexson (1)00.0
Mike Timlin (1)00.0